The most wonderful(ly busy) time of the year

It’s times like now that I am so thankful for the ability to rest in Christ and so glad that God set the precedent for sabbath after finishing projects.

December proved to be a very busy time for our children’s ministry, and just for interns at the Stone in general. Christmas parties, service projects, family worship events, have all been happening since a few weeks ago. And now our two biggest events are finished and the actual day of Christmas is easing toward us.

There’s a deepening peace that comes with knowing the real meaning of Christmas. I’ve done no shopping, and for the most part have no idea what I’m going to get anyone at all, but as I’ve grown in my understanding of who God is, and the scandalous nature of Him becoming a man to dwell with us, I find myself less concerned with the trappings of Christmas. After all, it will come “without packages, boxes or bags” as The Grinch so famously observes. In stead, I have been trying to concern myself with the glorious coming of a long awaited savior, and what His life and death mean to me over two millennia later.

To help me with this, I have been meditating on some of my favorite carols and wanted to just post some of my favorite lines in hopes of inspiring you to think of the meaning behind this potentially stressful and often massively commercialized time of year.

“Long lay the world in sin and error pining, till He appeared and the soul felt its worth; a thrill of hope, the weary world rejoices…”

“O come, o come, Emmanuel, and ransom captive Israel; who mourns in lonely exile here, until the Son of God appear. Rejoice!”

“Remember Christ our savior was born on Christmas Day to save us all from Satan’s power when we had gone astray; O Tidings of comfort and joy!”

“For in this weak, unarmed guise, the gates of Hell He will surprise.”

And in this time of remembrance, it’s oh too easy to forget that the battle is won. We can and should take time to rest in the finished work of Christ. If we remember that Jesus came and forget that He died for sin, we are celebrating a birth no more significant than the millions that happen each day.

I hope that you will take some time after reading this to thank Jesus for His birth and life and death, and then call up a loved one to share with them what Jesus means to you. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

