Work and Play

Preparing for the fall semester is, I am told, a very busy time for The Austin Stone Community Church staff, especially the Kids staff. That said, now that the fall is underway, the people I work with were in need of a well deserved break, and so our staff retreat was scheduled for this Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday morning.

Most of you who have been following my blog may realize that I’ve only been working for TASCC since last week, (which was a short week because of labor day). So I came in to the office Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday of last week, as well as Sunday of this week, before taking three days off to rest in the Lord with my team. Although I will freely admit I did not really need the time off, I discovered quickly how wonderful my team is and how much fun they will be to work with. From an Austin Segway tour, to a fun game night playing Mexican Train and Super Mario Brothers for the WiiU, to Top Golf, I had an awesome opportunity to meet and get to know all the unique and friendly and Jesus-loving individuals from the other campus’ Kids staff, and their spouses. My life is officially super-saturated with gospel-centered community. I am so blessed and so excited to see how God uses these people in my life.

Please be praying for me though, that as I am surrounded by those who love me and desire to see me grow and develop, that I will do two things. 1) Be used by the Lord to spur them on as well, and 2) not grow dependent on people for my spiritual sustenance, but that my dependence will be fully on the Lord.

That said, I took two and a half days off after only 4 days on the job… It’s time I get back to work!

Leave a Reply

