First world problems

When I got here on Saturday, I was impressed by the cool set up that The Austin Stone is providing us. A two bedroom, two bathroom apartment for me and three roommates, fully furnished? I’m ok with that. I’m also really glad I chose to err on the side of caution and bring less rather than more. There are a few things I’m wishing I already had with me (power strips and my bedside lamp to name a few) but I am overall very well established in this new city.

Today was my first day attending my new church home, and I got to work with two year olds who were completely adorable! I helped set things up (a little bit, I accidentally slept in and missed a lot of it) and then after service helped take things down and pack them up. Although it was not an “official” day of work for the church, today ended up being pretty filled with church related activities.

Through much of the day I had minor issues that kept popping up and left me frustrated again and again. From over sleeping my alarm to a long restaurant wait to missing exits to being locked out, to struggling with an Ikea dresser (or malm?) I found myself up against frustration after frustration and had trouble keeping my eyes consistently focused on the Lord.

Then, when I drove out to meet my roommate to borrow his key to get into the apartment, I met a man who introduced himself to me as Brother Boo. Sadly, I’ve forgotten his real name, which he also gave me, but his words to me were straight from the Spirit: “You know, kids in Uganda wouldn’t even understand the problems we have. They wouldn’t know they even had problems if they were dealing with the minor things we deal with.” That was a humbling reminder of how incredibly good God has been to me. My family and friends, my girlfriend, this chance to pursue my dream of ministry, His amazing provision for me through support raising and selling my car and moving from Dallas to Garland to Austin… God continues to bless me.

Each of the tiny setbacks and hassles I’ve dealt with today are nothing compared to the problems facing tons of other people the world over, so today I am choosing to be thankful for how smoothly things are going and how much of God’s goodness I am getting to experience right now. And if things turn south and everything falls apart, I will choose to be thankful for the fact that God doesn’t have to give me what I want to be good. I will praise Him for salvation and for His sovereignty even if I don’t see another material/circumstantial blessing from not till the day I day.

I’m super excited to actually start work on Tuesday, and will be raising the last 10-15% of my support from Austin while working, so I think it’s probably good that God took some time today to remind me that He is good even when I’m stressed out!

One thought on “First world problems

  1. Glad you made it safely there Sam! True, it’s easy to see all our many little problems and fall into the wrong attitude, but keeping our eyes on Jesus is not a physical thing, but a faith thing. It’s trusting in his goodness and grace to us in spite of the things our flesh wants to complain about. It’s part and parcel with the denying ourselves, taking up our cross daily and following him. Keep pressing on looking to him and you will see his glory all the more!

Leave a Reply

